top of page
  • Writer's picturendoffirst

Why are we here?

Updated: Apr 28, 2021

From the very beginning, the mission statement of Neurodivergent of FIRST has been “to raise educated awareness of neurodivergent people in the FIRST community”. Way back in the summer of 2018, I started to to create this organization but stopped myself, wondering “How much of an issue could this be? Is an organization really necessary?”. I was so convinced at the time that the issue was almost nonexistent, or at least it was felt by a very small minority. Throughout the next year, between everything I had seen and the people I had connected with, there was no doubt that this was something worth creating.

I learned of the surprisingly large number of neurodivergent people in FIRST. I had the amazing opportunity to speak to them, to learn and see firsthand what problems they were facing, and to see how they wish to be included. Neurodivergent is a very broad term which we have broadened even further, ranging from conditions such as autism and Down syndrome to ADHD and dyslexia. Everyone has a different perspective, but each and every one is important to promoting inclusiveness of everybody in FIRST and in the world as a whole.


Below, we have a few testimonies from staff members to express what NoF means to them and some of the issues at hand:


"Do you have any stories or experiences with neurodivergent issues in FIRST that you can share? If so, write it below."

"The competitions I go to don’t really have a room where you can take a break from all of the noise. I have autism, and one of my sensory sensitivities is loud noises. I went to an offseason event with earplugs and the noise problem was so much better! This season, I had earplugs on a string around my neck the whole competition." - Rachel Hopper, FRC team 4419 student


"At the beginning of the last FLL season, an autistic student was being mocked for his ideas and his behavior, which he really couldn't control. It truly became a terrible environment for the student. I've since had a conversation with the team in question on how to be more inclusive. Situations like this happen all too often, and they clearly show why we need to improve inclusion for neurodivergent people not just in FIRST, but in the real world." - Eva True, 2197 student


" What is NoF to you? What does it mean to you?"

"It is a community of caring people who go through similar situations as most neurodivergent people do letting people in FIRST programs they’re not alone and that they’re supported and loved." - Lucky Glasco, FRC team 2903 student


"When I heard that there was an up and starting community of Neurodivergent in FIRST, I got really excited because neurodiversity is a big part of my identity and I'm glad that not only is there a place for me, but also a place for other students in a similar situation. I'm glad that I have this opportunity to help others in finding a community for them and to see this organization grow." - Amon Green, FRC team 5530 student.


A great number of people have put forth a lot of effort to make FIRST a more inclusive and accepting place for a variety of groups, and we view ourselves as another segment of that goal. It's going to be a long road ahead, but one thing's for certain. There will not be a third attempt at creating this organization.

86 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


ndoffirst
ndoffirst
Sep 29, 2019

Authored by Zach True, 2197

Like
bottom of page